Floppy driver without DMA

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
Lon
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:14 am

Floppy driver without DMA

Post by Lon »

I was just wondering if there are any tutorials out there or code examples of programming the fdc without using DMA or is it just the same apart from setting the ND bit to 1 when you run the specify command?

TIA,
Lon
User avatar
Dex
Member
Member
Posts: 1444
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:00 am
Contact:

Post by Dex »

Word of warning, i when i first started coding my floppy driver, thought it would be much easier to start with, to make a floppy drive with out DMA.
I then spent alot of time with the code not working and trying to fix problem, there were no example of working code, i maybe wrong, but it maybe a case of the vesa3 pmode interface that is well doc, but no one has got it working.
So i would say use DMA.
But if any one has working code for any of my above example please show so i can rethink this myth.
Last edited by Dex on Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lon
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:14 am

Post by Lon »

Thanks for the info. I'll save myself a whole load of time and just use DMA although if anyone does have any info on doing it the non-DMA way I would still be very interested to know.

Thxs,
Lon
deathangel
Member
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by deathangel »

Non-DMA is generally much slower as you have to use port I/O for each byte you read from the floppy disk. You basically set it up exactly the same but without the DMA enabled, then you wait for an interrupt and either read/write throught the DATA port the bytes.
Post Reply