Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
OSDesign

Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by OSDesign »

In a new OS, is it possible to emulate or support the PE executable and the win32 API ? but full support at 100% ? because almost of the soft are in win32. I know is exist somes things like wine but it's not perfect, it is because Microsoft keep secret some of routines and function ? and what about linux ? we have acces to source code so is it possible to support the elf executable in a new filesystem ?
Ozguxxx

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by Ozguxxx »

hi, I think bochs can be set to work windows but you have to set lots of things and have a had disk image. :) Well, if this is what you asked for...
User avatar
Solar
Member
Member
Posts: 7615
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:01 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by Solar »

Probably not. 8)

You actually asked three questions: executable format, API, and ABI.

Yes, you can support the PE / ELF executable format. That doesn't mean you can run Win32 or Linux binaries, just that you can read them.

Yes, you can support the API (application programming interface), of both Win32 and Linux (or rather, POSIX, which is the API standard for Unix-alike operating systems). That means you can recompile existing applications to run on your new OS.

Yes, you can support the Linux / POSIX ABI, meaning that Linux binaries can run unchanged on your system, without recompiling.

As for the Win32 ABI, I doubt you'll ever get better support than Wine, for the exact reasons you mentioned.
Every good solution is obvious once you've found it.
ASHLEY4

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by ASHLEY4 »

Hi
I would of agreed with Solar,Had it not been for my xbox experience,You can run most PE and win32 on a moded xbox and that is only 150k for the hole OS.
And there are emulators for the xbox.
So it may be possible???? :-\ .

ASHLEY4.
User avatar
Candy
Member
Member
Posts: 3882
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 11:33 pm
Location: Eindhoven

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by Candy »

Don't start a new attempt here. Check ReactOS that are trying to do it (www.reactos.org).
User avatar
bubach
Member
Member
Posts: 1223
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by bubach »

ReactOS seems to be doing fine, it will be fun to test it when it supports more Win32 apps..

/ Christoffer
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
http://bos.asmhackers.net/ - GitHub
nullify

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by nullify »

ASHLEY4 wrote:I would of agreed with Solar,Had it not been for my xbox experience,You can run most PE and win32 on a moded xbox and that is only 150k for the hole OS.
Microsoft uses a specially modified version of Windows 2000 to power XBox, which is why it wouldn't be surprising if it could run Win32 applications. OTOH, if by 'modding' you are referring to replacing the operating system with e.g. Linux (and still have the capability to run Win32 applications) I would be interested in seeing it.
ASHLEY4

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by ASHLEY4 »

nullify wrote: Microsoft uses a specially modified version of Windows 2000 to power XBox, which is why it wouldn't be surprising if it could run Win32 applications. OTOH, if by 'modding' you are referring to replacing the operating system with e.g. Linux (and still have the capability to run Win32 applications) I would be interested in seeing it.
Hi
I meen the first one, But having said that to emulat 150k is a lot easyer than say 600mb ?,and as they have the code may be it can be done ?.
The ? was can it be done.
At one time i would have said no, But now i would say yes it can be done.
Not that it should.

ASHLEY4.
User avatar
Pype.Clicker
Member
Member
Posts: 5964
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
Contact:

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by Pype.Clicker »

The real question is "what is Win32" ? some programs that run fine on Windows 9x series fail to run on Windows NT ... sometimes simply because of missing DirectX drivers, sometimes because the API offered on both system is not the same ... and sometimes because the memory management on those system is not the same either (according to my brother who makes macromedia application under Windows systems) ...
User avatar
bubach
Member
Member
Posts: 1223
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by bubach »

so how wants to emulate win 9.x/me? it will do perfectly well with nt in that case..
maybe someone should try to disassmble the emulating-code from xbox if it is that small?

/ Christoffer
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
http://bos.asmhackers.net/ - GitHub
User avatar
Candy
Member
Member
Posts: 3882
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 11:33 pm
Location: Eindhoven

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by Candy »

bubach wrote: maybe someone should try to disassmble the emulating-code from xbox if it is that small?
uhm... 150k of binary results in 40k lines of source code lines, provided it's not compressed (which it probably is). You do NOT want to go through 40k-lines of source without labels.
User avatar
bubach
Member
Member
Posts: 1223
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by bubach »

for making a win compatible os it is really small.. ;-P
it isn?t that bad... if i wanted a win compatible os i would go for it!

PS. i guess that you mean about 400k? 150k in source would not be smaller then it is compiled..

/ Christoffer
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
http://bos.asmhackers.net/ - GitHub
Tim

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by Tim »

bubach wrote: maybe someone should try to disassmble the emulating-code from xbox if it is that small?
You could try, but you'd find it easier to download it from the Microsoft web site. Yes, really.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/embedded/prev ... fault.aspx
User avatar
bubach
Member
Member
Posts: 1223
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by bubach »

Oh, ****!
Is it win CE (modified) in xbox? and does it really have support to run a "real" win (nt, 9.x or me) based program?

Anyway, thats cool!

/ Christoffer
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
http://bos.asmhackers.net/ - GitHub
Tim

Re:Is it possible to emulate perfectly win32 ?

Post by Tim »

bubach wrote:Is it win CE (modified) in xbox?
I believe so.
and does it really have support to run a "real" win (nt, 9.x or me) based program?
Depends. Officially, no, because officially you'd never be able to copy real programs onto there. Unofficially, it depends. Windows CE is slightly different in a lot of respects from regular Windows.
Post Reply