Which OS you are using for development ?

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Demonix
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Under your bed :P

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by Demonix »

I have 2 machines, one's an eMac, Mac OS X - I use this most. My 2nd machine is a dual boot of Windows XP HE and Linux SuSE 9.2 KDE

I find Mac is best for OS Graphics, linux for code, and Windows is there for games, and if I feel bad about making a poor OS, I can laugh at the crap they churn out
Learn, learn, then eat and drink, then learn some more!
[AlAdDiN]
Member
Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by [AlAdDiN] »

and don't forget that Mac OS X is a UNIX (BSD) ;)
-----------------------
There are 10 types of people in this world... those that understand binary, and those that don't.
User avatar
matthias
Member
Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Vlaardingen, Holland
Contact:

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by matthias »

JAAman wrote: matthias: have you tried using the VC6 compiler?
Nope, But I'm sure going to try to, as you can see in my post on the forum about the C++ bug, Someone said that I should try another compiler. But there might be a problem with compiling with vc6 because I think the linker only supports windows PE files, so maybe I can tweak vc6 to use it's own compiler and use the linker of djgpp :p.

I hope it'll work :)
The source of my problems is in the source.
User avatar
carbonBased
Member
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Wellesley, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by carbonBased »

OSs:
Linux (SuSE)
QNX
BeOS
WinXP
Compilers:
GCC
LCC w/ Nasm backend
Asm:
NASM
Emulators:
VMWare
Bochs

My favorite development environment (by far!) is Linux (or any unix based OS). Why?
- better compilers (gcc is the best compiler I've used for osdev)
- open source tools, and lots of them (eg. perl, awk, sed, and even bash... if you're doing any hard core development, these are essential... how can you ppl exist using a basic dos prompt!?)
- nice dev environments (Visual Studio is nice, but I still prefer quick/fast KWrite with a terminal docked to it. Other nice IDEs: Emacs (!!), KDevelop, Ajunta, etc...)
- inspiration! (I have yet to meet a challenge that my little Linux box can't do... I have a complete network/file server/gateway server 5 computers built out of a 386... if my OS can't do that, what's the point?)
- speed! If you're running an emulator, this is critical... I've used VMWare on Windows before... it was painful.
- security! Yes, I back-up my source code, but I'm still paranoid... the file system on my XP drive is so inconsistent. Files get corrupt, disappear... or... my personal favorite, appear in explorer, but not in the command prompt...! I don't trust my source on this kind of a system... especially one that's so error and virus prone as a windoze box running Internet Explorer and Outlook (the two most insecure applications I've ever seen)...

And there's my rant :)

Cheers,
Jeff
User avatar
JAAman
Member
Member
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: WA

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by JAAman »

I think the linker only supports windows PE files, so maybe I can tweak vc6 to use it's own compiler and use the linker of djgpp
i think you could use any compiler or linker with vc6 (it uses command line tools just like any other compiler) you just have to change the command line options

I prefer to link to flat binary myself i havnt tryed vc6 yet but id like to

the compiler is supposed to be the most standards complient compiler in existance so there shouldnt be any problems
Legend
Member
Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by Legend »

I think I have too much speed then, as I sometimes use Linux in VMWare on Windows and Visual Studio 6 is super fast for me ...
*post*
User avatar
prajwal
Member
Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by prajwal »

I use Red Hat 9.0 and GCC 3.2.... I also use winXP but thats only for
playing games, net browsing etc.....
User avatar
bluecode
Member
Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by bluecode »

os: Windows XP Home for games and Madrake Linux 10.0 for os development
compiler: gcc
assembler: nasm
Emulator: bochs
Last edited by bluecode on Mon Dec 13, 2004 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
MB
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by MB »

I'm using Win98 with MinGW and NASM.
COLD_FIRE
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 12:00 am

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by COLD_FIRE »

JAAman wrote:if your programing it for win then its not an os and you shouldnt mess with the hardware directly -- keeping you from doing that is the primary porpose of an OS

unless your writing a driver in which case you should use the provided driver interface

if you mean programing within win for your own os then there is no difference between win and any other OS
I mean that it's hard to access devices in low level such as blocks. For example if you want to write system information of a FS to any partition you can't use it directly! And I will be very happy if someone tell me that there is a way to change this.
User avatar
JAAman
Member
Member
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: WA

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by JAAman »

write a driver: anything other than a driver should NOT have that level of access to a device (such as the file system) otherwise just access files through the driver

but if you use the driver interfaces it shouldn't be too hard(havnt done it myself)
Karig
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Contact:

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by Karig »

MY DEVELOPMENT ENVIRONMENT:

Working machine: PowerSpec PC (Pentium 4, 2.4 MHz, 1 GB RAM).
OS: Windows XP.
Text editor: NoteTab Pro.
Assembler: NASM.
C++ IDE: LCC-Win32/WEdit.
Floppy-image writer: RawWriteWin.

Test machine: Soyo PW-9800 laptop (Pentium MMX compatible CPU, ~200 MHz, 32 MB RAM, 3 GB hard disk, bought on eBay for a hundred bucks).

Method for transferring software to test machine: Write image file onto floppy, insert floppy into laptop's floppy drive, turn on laptop, watch screen for results. :)
gmoney
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Texas, Usa

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by gmoney »

I Use The Fedora Project core three (RED HAT) and gcc 3.2 and Windows Xp Pro Sp2 for games and other things
Just because your phone is "smart" doesn't mean the user is... ijs
rexlunae
Member
Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: North Dakota, where the buffalo roam

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by rexlunae »

OS: FreeBSD
Architecture: 32-bit x86 PC
Language(s): C, small amount of inline assembly
Compiler: GCC 3.4
Bootloader: GNU/GRUB
User avatar
carbonBased
Member
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Wellesley, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Which OS you are using for development ?

Post by carbonBased »

Karig wrote:MY DEVELOPMENT ENVIRONMENT:

Working machine: PowerSpec PC (Pentium 4, 2.4 MHz, 1 GB RAM).
2.4Mhz, eh? :)
Sorry... had to :)
Karig wrote: Text editor: NoteTab Pro.
'tis an excellent editor! I use it at work on the windows severs... You're the only other person I know that uses it, but others definitly should!
Karig wrote: Test machine: Soyo PW-9800 laptop (Pentium MMX compatible CPU, ~200 MHz, 32 MB RAM, 3 GB hard disk, bought on eBay for a hundred bucks).
Yeah, I wonder how many people also do the same? I test my code on a P266 with about the same specs. It's definitly a worth-while investment if you intend to have your OS run on "less then ideal" hardware.

Cheers,
Jeff
Post Reply