ACPICA works fine on vms, but it halts on real hardware.
Is there anything wrong with my ACPI Initialization.
https://github.com/NXTdevosc1/acpica/bl ... main.c#L48
How to properly initialize ACPICA
-
- Member
- Posts: 5560
- Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:01 pm
Re: How to properly initialize ACPICA
Where does it halt?devc1 wrote:it halts
Re: How to properly initialize ACPICA
Wait actually it halted before, the OS still doesnt fully work on real hardware but now the problem isnt in ACPICA as I did a 10 color test because i still do not debug directly in the frame buffer through writing text.
And ACPICA seems to work fine, i need to investigate other drivers.
This is the 10 color test if you wonder:
https://ibb.co/KXV1c2j
And ACPICA seems to work fine, i need to investigate other drivers.
This is the 10 color test if you wonder:
https://ibb.co/KXV1c2j
Last edited by devc1 on Fri Jul 21, 2023 7:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: How to properly initialize ACPICA
Sorry, I thought it was ACPICA problem because it was before I unmap the 0 page and discover some bugs.
The ACPICA driver works fine, but it gives a page fault after the driver is ran so it may be the kernel or some other driver. I will see about that, I think Ill keep working on vms until I finish the drivers then after making the 3D driver and font driver i will just display logs on the screen and see whats the problem.
For now, thanks and sorry for wasting your times.
Actually I quite didn't figure out how to use acpi to see if there is an RTC and how to see PCI Routing table because i will need it in EHCI.
The ACPICA driver works fine, but it gives a page fault after the driver is ran so it may be the kernel or some other driver. I will see about that, I think Ill keep working on vms until I finish the drivers then after making the 3D driver and font driver i will just display logs on the screen and see whats the problem.
For now, thanks and sorry for wasting your times.
Actually I quite didn't figure out how to use acpi to see if there is an RTC and how to see PCI Routing table because i will need it in EHCI.
-
- Member
- Posts: 426
- Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:44 am
Re: How to properly initialize ACPICA
Remember, sometimes just writing it down makes you think about it potentially different. The action of asking for help sometimes just gives you insight.devc1 wrote: For now, thanks and sorry for wasting your times.
Re: How to properly initialize ACPICA
Yeah it always does. I'm feeling a bit rude in this forum because most of the time I get the answer myself just by writing a question lol.
Let's change it to this:
Let's change it to this:
Actually I quite didn't figure out how to use acpi to see if there is an RTC and how to see PCI Routing table because i will need it in EHCI.
-
- Member
- Posts: 5560
- Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:01 pm
Re: How to properly initialize ACPICA
Enumerate the ACPI namespace. An RTC device might have the PnP ID ACPI000E, PNP0B00, PNP0B01, or PNP0B02 depending on how it's meant to be accessed. If you find none of these devices, check if the FADT says you can probe for a legacy RTC.devc1 wrote:how to use acpi to see if there is an RTC
Also, UEFI provides a runtime service for accessing the RTC.
Do what the ACPI spec says to do.devc1 wrote:how to see PCI Routing table