Tested on real hardware. BIOS ahci version is set to ahci 2.0
As you can see. the second last value is 0xA5 that means the identify data is correct.
But the Model name is filled with 0x20 and both offset 120(ATA_IDENT_MAX_LBA) and 200(ATA_IDENT_MAX_LBA_EXT) are zero
Even the identify data doesn't looks right. but it reads the disk correctly
and the identication look working on VMware
[AHCI] identification data has no Model and Size on real hw
-
- Member
- Posts: 104
- Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 10:40 am
- Libera.chat IRC: visitor
- Location: CN
- Contact:
Re: [AHCI] identification data has no Model and Size on real
Is there any way except identify the disk to get the size of disk? and Model?
My github: https://github.com/nifanfa
-
- Member
- Posts: 5562
- Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:01 pm
Re: [AHCI] identification data has no Model and Size on real
Your photo has too much information cut off to be certain, but it looks like the model name is "Hoodisk SSD" (6F 48 64 6F 73 69 20 6B 53 53 20 44).nifanfa wrote:But the Model name is filled with 0x20
Your photo has too much information cut off to tell what values are in these words.nifanfa wrote:and both offset 120(ATA_IDENT_MAX_LBA) and 200(ATA_IDENT_MAX_LBA_EXT) are zero
-
- Member
- Posts: 104
- Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 10:40 am
- Libera.chat IRC: visitor
- Location: CN
- Contact:
Re: [AHCI] identification data has no Model and Size on real
thank you. i think my struct was wrong.Octocontrabass wrote:Your photo has too much information cut off to be certain, but it looks like the model name is "Hoodisk SSD" (6F 48 64 6F 73 69 20 6B 53 53 20 44).nifanfa wrote:But the Model name is filled with 0x20
Your photo has too much information cut off to tell what values are in these words.nifanfa wrote:and both offset 120(ATA_IDENT_MAX_LBA) and 200(ATA_IDENT_MAX_LBA_EXT) are zero
My github: https://github.com/nifanfa
-
- Member
- Posts: 104
- Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 10:40 am
- Libera.chat IRC: visitor
- Location: CN
- Contact:
Re: [AHCI] identification data has no Model and Size on real
i found that sometimes the Signature (offset 510) is not 0xA5 so on that time the Model name and maxlba will be invalid value
My github: https://github.com/nifanfa
-
- Member
- Posts: 5562
- Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:01 pm
Re: [AHCI] identification data has no Model and Size on real
You should still be able to read the model name and maximum LBA even when the Checksum Validity Indicator is not 0xA5. It sounds like there's a problem somewhere in your driver.