Debugging Kernel with gdb along with bochs

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
yerri07
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:56 am

Debugging Kernel with gdb along with bochs

Post by yerri07 »

Hello
I enable bochs gdb stub , and everything went good, but when i connect to bochs with port 1234 , connection times out.


gdbstub: enabled=1, port=1234, text_base=0, data_base=0, bss_base=0

The bochs waits for connection on port 1234. when i use to connect to the boch on new terminal , connection times out , no error, just time out


$gdb
.
.
.
gdb> target remote :1234 and target remote localhost:1234 , i tried both
User avatar
iansjack
Member
Member
Posts: 4706
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:07 am
Location: Chichester, UK

Re: Debugging Kernel with gdb along with bochs

Post by iansjack »

Just a thought - you haven't got a firewall blocking access to that port on the loopback interface?
yerri07
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:56 am

Re: Debugging Kernel with gdb along with bochs

Post by yerri07 »

I think No, i tested with qemu it is working fine . I changed the port numbler too(GDB) . But fails. I used -gdb tcp::1234,ipv4 Option(for Qemu Works) , so are there any changes to be done for bochs config
User avatar
iansjack
Member
Member
Posts: 4706
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:07 am
Location: Chichester, UK

Re: Debugging Kernel with gdb along with bochs

Post by iansjack »

Is there a reason that you want to use Bochs rather than qemu?
yerri07
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:56 am

Re: Debugging Kernel with gdb along with bochs

Post by yerri07 »

The debugging process not working quite well with qemu.
LtG
Member
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:57 pm

Re: Debugging Kernel with gdb along with bochs

Post by LtG »

yerri07 wrote:The debugging process not working quite well with qemu.
That means nothing to me, probably as little to others. Obviously you should have it working with Bochs as well, but in what way does it not work with Qemu?
Post Reply