Qemu bpp

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
abcd1996
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:07 pm

Qemu bpp

Post by abcd1996 »

Does QEMU only support 24bits per pixel ? I want to use 32 bits per pixel :( :(
User avatar
BrightLight
Member
Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Re: Qemu bpp

Post by BrightLight »

abcd1996 wrote:Does QEMU only support 24bits per pixel ? I want to use 32 bits per pixel :( :(
Try running QEMU with the -vga std parameter.
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.
abcd1996
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:07 pm

Re: Qemu bpp

Post by abcd1996 »

omarrx024 wrote:
abcd1996 wrote:Does QEMU only support 24bits per pixel ? I want to use 32 bits per pixel :( :(
Try running QEMU with the -vga std parameter.
Thanks! I just found the same suggestion on google.
edit:
The bpp in mode_info struct is still 24
Last edited by abcd1996 on Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
BrightLight
Member
Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Re: Qemu bpp

Post by BrightLight »

abcd1996 wrote:Thanks! I just found the same suggestion on google.
Why are they not doing this for default :roll:
From my personal experience, QEMU 2.0+ does this by default on Linux, but all versions of QEMU for Windows default to -vga cirrus, which only supports true color as a 24-bit mode.
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.
abcd1996
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:07 pm

Re: Qemu bpp

Post by abcd1996 »

omarrx024 wrote:
abcd1996 wrote:Thanks! I just found the same suggestion on google.
Why are they not doing this for default :roll:
From my personal experience, QEMU 2.0+ does this by default on Linux, but all versions of QEMU for Windows default to -vga cirrus, which only supports true color as a 24-bit mode.
The bpp in mode_info struct is still 24 :shock:

-vga qxl doesn't work either, 0x118 mode still has bpp24
User avatar
BrightLight
Member
Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Re: Qemu bpp

Post by BrightLight »

abcd1996 wrote:The bpp in mode_info struct is still 24 :shock:

-vga qxl doesn't work either, 0x118 mode still has bpp24
Very common mistake: NEVER, EVER assume video mode numbers.
QEMU with -vga std supports 32-bit modes but the mode number is not 0x118. Asking the BIOS for supported video modes is your homework today. :P
I've written this tutorial on VESA back then. It should clarify things and has example code for reference.
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.
User avatar
Kazinsal
Member
Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:38 pm
Libera.chat IRC: Kazinsal
Location: Vancouver
Contact:

Re: Qemu bpp

Post by Kazinsal »

Don't use VBE 1.0 mode numbers. They are not guaranteed to work for anything other than ancient backwards compatibility, if at all.

Search for high resolution modes by looping through the appropriate VBE calls yourself.
abcd1996
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:07 pm

Re: Qemu bpp

Post by abcd1996 »

omarrx024 wrote:
abcd1996 wrote:The bpp in mode_info struct is still 24 :shock:

-vga qxl doesn't work either, 0x118 mode still has bpp24
Very common mistake: NEVER, EVER assume video mode numbers.
QEMU with -vga std supports 32-bit modes but the mode number is not 0x118. Asking the BIOS for supported video modes is your homework today. :P
I've written this tutorial on VESA back then. It should clarify things and has example code for reference.
I've read your articles before(many times) :D , but still assume the mode number because I was lazy. i will do it now
abcd1996
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:07 pm

Re: Qemu bpp

Post by abcd1996 »

Kazinsal wrote:Don't use VBE 1.0 mode numbers. They are not guaranteed to work for anything other than ancient backwards compatibility, if at all.

Search for high resolution modes by looping through the appropriate VBE calls yourself.
Thanks Kazinsal !!
Post Reply