intel ivybridge integrated graphics - how to set mode

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
mateuszb
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:27 am

intel ivybridge integrated graphics - how to set mode

Post by mateuszb »

Hi,

I'm trying to figure out on the conceptual level, what are the necessary steps to configure a display mode (resolution) on IvyBridge integrated graphics card? I've downloaded all of the documents at https://01.org/linuxgraphics/documentat ... sor-family but having no luck finding references to "resolution" in any of documents (except a few useless cases).

I understand the basics of how these graphics cards work (command streaming, etc.) but not sure how the display mode is configured? I'm guessing that just sending a 2d surface to a blitter engine with (x, y) dimensions will not automatically update the display mode.

Did anyone try playing with these cards and has any hints?

Also, by any chance, does anyone know what a surface pitch is?

Thanks!
mateuszb
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:27 am

Re: intel ivybridge integrated graphics - how to set mode

Post by mateuszb »

For anyone following this and interested in graphics programming on ivy bridge the answer is contained in "Intel® OpenSource HD Graphics Programmer’s Reference Manual (PRM) Volume 3 Part 3: North Display Engine Registers
(Ivy Bridge)"

The general flow is as described in "Display Mode Set Sequence" chapter except it is very obscure.

Proper sequence is described in intelfbhw.c in linux 3.8.3. The steps are described in intelfbhw_mode_to_hw() which configures a structure in host memory. That structure contains registers that will be written by intelfbhw_program_mode() function.

The reason there is no "resolution" keyword mentioned is mostly because the north display engine deals with analog signals on display ports so it seems that the terminology is a bit different than what software folks call it. The registers that configure resolution are Vertical Active and Horizontal Active signals.
User avatar
Combuster
Member
Member
Posts: 9301
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Contact:

Re: intel ivybridge integrated graphics - how to set mode

Post by Combuster »

For those reading: Video_Signals_And_Timing covers most of the analog matters, including the typical terminology.
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]
mateuszb
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:27 am

Re: intel ivybridge integrated graphics - how to set mode

Post by mateuszb »

That's a very useful link you just posted!
matute81
Member
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:47 am

Re: intel ivybridge integrated graphics - how to set mode

Post by matute81 »

Thank you very much for the information!
I'm not sure if the procedure is the same for all the intel graphics...
Post Reply