What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
User avatar
osdever
Member
Member
Posts: 492
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:41 am
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by osdever »

U365 console. Still WIP with bugs.
Attachments
Screenshot_20160101_120838.png
Developing U365.
Source:
only testing: http://gitlab.com/bps-projs/U365/tree/testing

OSDev newbies can copy any code from my repositories, just leave a notice that this code was written by U365 development team, not by you.
User avatar
BrightLight
Member
Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by BrightLight »

catnikita255 wrote:U365 console. Still WIP with bugs.
Looks rather nice. You should add a cursor, though.
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.
User avatar
osdever
Member
Member
Posts: 492
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:41 am
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by osdever »

omarrx024 wrote:
catnikita255 wrote:U365 console. Still WIP with bugs.
Looks rather nice. You should add a cursor, though.
I know.
Developing U365.
Source:
only testing: http://gitlab.com/bps-projs/U365/tree/testing

OSDev newbies can copy any code from my repositories, just leave a notice that this code was written by U365 development team, not by you.
User avatar
mallardest
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:36 pm
Libera.chat IRC: mallard

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by mallardest »

Image

It's not much yet.
Next I need to write a memory allocator.
Techel
Member
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 4:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by Techel »

For your 12GB of ram :shock:
User avatar
mallardest
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:36 pm
Libera.chat IRC: mallard

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by mallardest »

Roflo wrote:For your 12GB of ram :shock:
Yeah I was just testing. Normally it only runs with 1G.
I just count the size of all of the usable memory areas that grub gives to me and then print it out.
User avatar
BrightLight
Member
Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by BrightLight »

Doesn't look like much, but I implemented a line-drawing algorithm:
line.png
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.
cheapskate01
Member
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:05 pm

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by cheapskate01 »

omarrx024 wrote:Doesn't look like much, but I implemented a line-drawing algorithm:
line.png
What are the odds, I just got mine yesterday too!
but for some reason, mine only does diagonal lines...
"That I'm in forum signatures is just a sign the invasion of sortie is nearing completion. Soon you'll all have to become me to defeat me." ~ Sortie
User avatar
BrightLight
Member
Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by BrightLight »

cheapskate01 wrote:but for some reason, mine only does diagonal lines...
You'll need a separate routine that draws horizontal line from a specified X/Y and width, and another that draws a vertical line from a specified X/Y and height. Then before actually drawing in your draw_line routine, you can arrange your values so that x2 > x1, and y2 > y1, then do something like this:

Code: Select all

if(x2 == x1)
{
	draw_horizontal_line(x1, y1, x2-x1, color);	// draw_horizontal_line(x,y,width,color)
} else if(y2 == y1)
{
	draw_vertical_line(x1, y1, y2-y1, color);	// draw_vertical_line(x,y,height,color)
} else
{
	// your real line-drawing code goes here...
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.
cheapskate01
Member
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:05 pm

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by cheapskate01 »

omarrx024 wrote:
cheapskate01 wrote:but for some reason, mine only does diagonal lines...
You'll need a separate routine that draws horizontal line from a specified X/Y and width, and another that draws a vertical line from a specified X/Y and height. Then before actually drawing in your draw_line routine, you can arrange your values so that x2 > x1, and y2 > y1, then do something like this:

Code: Select all

if(x2 == x1)
{
	draw_horizontal_line(x1, y1, x2-x1, color);	// draw_horizontal_line(x,y,width,color)
} else if(y2 == y1)
{
	draw_vertical_line(x1, y1, y2-y1, color);	// draw_vertical_line(x,y,height,color)
} else
{
	// your real line-drawing code goes here...
Okay, thanks; but I meant: If the line isn't horizontal or vertical, it is perfectly diagonal. It refuses to draw lines at a slope like yours :?
"That I'm in forum signatures is just a sign the invasion of sortie is nearing completion. Soon you'll all have to become me to defeat me." ~ Sortie
User avatar
BrightLight
Member
Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by BrightLight »

cheapskate01 wrote:Okay, thanks; but I meant: If the line isn't horizontal or vertical, it is perfectly diagonal. It refuses to draw lines at a slope like yours :?
I used the naive line-drawing algorithm from this Wikipedia page.
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.
Techel
Member
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 4:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by Techel »

Maybe you're using integer division.
User avatar
BrightLight
Member
Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by BrightLight »

Roflo wrote:Maybe you're using integer division.
Actually, it works perfectly fine with integer division. I'm not using any floating point numbers in this routine.
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.
Techel
Member
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 4:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by Techel »

If cheapskate's using an other algorithm, he could have made the mistake of using integer divisions instead of floating/fixed point ones as required in the algorithm.
cheapskate01
Member
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:05 pm

Re: What does your OS look like? (Screen Shots..)

Post by cheapskate01 »

Roflo wrote:If cheapskate's using an other algorithm, he could have made the mistake of using integer divisions instead of floating/fixed point ones as required in the algorithm.
I used Bresenham's, so It should've been alright, but idk...
"That I'm in forum signatures is just a sign the invasion of sortie is nearing completion. Soon you'll all have to become me to defeat me." ~ Sortie
Post Reply