I'm almost ashamed of asking this, but I can't find a solution for a very simple problem:
I use the VGA IO ports to update the cursor position, and this works fine. However, my cursor doesn't not blink
It's just a fixed line, and I can't seem to figure out which register I need to write to, to set it in "blink" modus...
a stupid vga cursor question...
Re: a stupid vga cursor question...
I tried this, but now my cursor even disappears completely
Code: Select all
void con_enableCursor() {
unsigned char value;
outb(0x3d4, 0x0a);
value = inb(0x3D5);
outb(0x3d4, 0x0a);
outb(0x3d5, value|0x20);
}
- Combuster
- Member
- Posts: 9301
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
- Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
- Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
- Contact:
Re: a stupid vga cursor question...
I think the most interesting question to ask is: did it blink before you touched any VGA register? Can you find out what piece of code made it stop doing that?
Re: a stupid vga cursor question...
Voltak:VolTeK wrote:
First link talks about the cursor and VT100/ANSI escape codes. Not what I was looking for.
Second link talks about the cursor shape, and indeed the blink rate, but no actual code on how to perform this. Also, it says there is no standard way to control the blink rate, so I'm even more surprised that the cursor is not blinking by default.
Nevertheless, a good try to insinuate that I didn't use google to check first, but trust me, I did
Combuster:
Actually, I did nothing, I use GRUB as a bootloader, and I suspect it's GRUB that modifies the cursor blink before it boots my kernel. I'm doing this in VirtualBox, so there might be a posssibility that the virtual vga-adapter defaults to a non-blinking cursor?
Re: a stupid vga cursor question...
That's what counts.sithlord2 wrote:Nevertheless, a good try to insinuate that I didn't use google to check first, but trust me, I did
Re: a stupid vga cursor question...
Okay, I finally found this article:
https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/7923
Seems that this is VirtualBox issue after all... weird...
https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/7923
Seems that this is VirtualBox issue after all... weird...
- Combuster
- Member
- Posts: 9301
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
- Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
- Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
- Contact:
Re: a stupid vga cursor question...
Tip of the day: don't trust emulators when it comes to accurate VGA emulation. Always test those things on real hardware.I'm doing this in VirtualBox, so there might be a posssibility that the virtual vga-adapter defaults to a non-blinking cursor?
-
- Member
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 9:41 am
- Location: Earth -> Asia
Re: a stupid vga cursor question...
+1
Quote:
I'm doing this in VirtualBox, so there might be a posssibility that the virtual vga-adapter defaults to a non-blinking cursor?
Tip of the day: don't trust emulators when it comes to accurate VGA emulation. Always test those things on real hardware.
ME too, I made my bootloader and used to test on Bochs, it worked fine and when I boot it on real computer I was getting Triple Fault.
One more TIP:Emulators are for testing whether the build is hazardous.But you need to test on real hardware even after you test on an emulator.
Anyone has a idea of making a ntfs bootsector?if yes PM me , plz.