When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Unkn0wn1
Member
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:18 am

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by Unkn0wn1 »

This is the first time my OS has truly gone screwed up....

[img]
http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6258 ... 107134.png
[/img]

I have a feeling it was very happy about that...

Bochs console says

<Numbers>[CPU0 ]BOUND_GdMa: Fails bounds test
Not sane
Just remember, FIND Is Not DOS :)
User avatar
Combuster
Member
Member
Posts: 9301
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Contact:

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by Combuster »

Unkn0wn1 wrote:[CPU0 ]BOUND_GdMa: Fails bounds test
That's usually not your code that's executing.

And because it needs to be said again: http://catb.org/~esr/jargon/html/M/McQuary-limit.html <- fix that bug too.
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]
Unkn0wn1
Member
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:18 am

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by Unkn0wn1 »

Done........
Not sane
Just remember, FIND Is Not DOS :)
invalid
Member
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:39 am

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by invalid »

After changing the paging model, this is what happened. The text in white at the bottom should say 'Panic!' - well, at least the panic handler was there when needed :)
Attachments
Paging fail.
Paging fail.
paging.png (6.68 KiB) Viewed 5171 times
klange
Member
Member
Posts: 679
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 12:31 am
Libera.chat IRC: klange
Discord: klange

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by klange »

Couple of oopses in this screenshot:

Image

1. It appears I've gone and killed my root window and those screen regions aren't being redrawn.
2. Terminal has no way to report its size, and ls is assuming it's running in a full screen terminal.
3. It also looks like I've broken a lock somewhere in the kernel, 'cause that `view` application isn't starting (it's a simple bitmap viewer). Further attempts to open anything also froze their processes.

1 and 2 are non-issues (I accidentally hit the 'kill window' shortcut twice, and the terminal not reporting it's size is simply a missing feature). 3 scares me a bit, though.
User avatar
AndreaOrru
Member
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:50 pm
Location: New York

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by AndreaOrru »

Image
Close the world, txEn eht nepO
sandras
Member
Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:30 am

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by sandras »

Thumbs up for Lain there. : )
Ziddia
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:28 pm

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by Ziddia »

Not as bad as most people's, but still strange, especially since this is the first time something has bugged on the screen rather than internally.

Image
Ziddia
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:28 pm

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by Ziddia »

Ziddia wrote:Not as bad as most people's, but still strange, especially since this is the first time something has bugged on the screen rather than internally.

Image
And one more before I go to sleep. Got my segments out of order, and this happened trying to fix it:

Image
User avatar
VolTeK
Member
Member
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:37 pm
Location: The Fire Nation

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by VolTeK »

Make sure your stack isn't corrupted.
Ziddia
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:28 pm

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by Ziddia »

VolTeK wrote:Make sure your stack isn't corrupted.
Pretty sure I fixed it.
melgmry0101b
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:49 am

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by melgmry0101b »

Ziddia wrote:
VolTeK wrote:Make sure your stack isn't corrupted.
Pretty sure I fixed it.
what was the bug ?
Ziddia
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:28 pm

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by Ziddia »

Mozo40 wrote:
Ziddia wrote:
VolTeK wrote:Make sure your stack isn't corrupted.
Pretty sure I fixed it.
what was the bug ?
Memory segments got messed up when I jumped from my bootsector to another file. It broke my string printing routine.
User avatar
Griwes
Member
Member
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:07 am
Libera.chat IRC: Griwes
Location: Wrocław/Racibórz, Poland
Contact:

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by Griwes »

I think I will laugh off of myself after fixing this, but this is result of first attempt to VBE mode string printing:

http://i.imgur.com/NdB9G.png (1600x1200, not going to embed it here...)

Not sure where I did something wrong, though.

Edit: my code was lacking one "return;" in function handling single characters, but rest was because of bug (I guess, I don't think that bug could hide somewhere in my code, checked it several times) in bochs' VBE code... it was giving me pitch for 1280x1024 in 1600x1200 mode.
Reaver Project :: Repository :: Ohloh project page
<klange> This is a horror story about what happens when you need a hammer and all you have is the skulls of the damned.
<drake1> as long as the lock is read and modified by atomic operations
ATXcs1372
Member
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots

Post by ATXcs1372 »

Griwes wrote:I think I will laugh off of myself after fixing this, but this is result of first attempt to VBE mode string printing:

http://i.imgur.com/NdB9G.png (1600x1200, not going to embed it here...)

Not sure where I did something wrong, though.

Edit: my code was lacking one "return;" in function handling single characters, but rest was because of bug (I guess, I don't think that bug could hide somewhere in my code, checked it several times) in bochs' VBE code... it was giving me pitch for 1280x1024 in 1600x1200 mode.
How did you come across this? I'm writing a VBE driver and it seems I'm fighting Bochs more than my own code with a very similar issue to your screenshot.
Post Reply