When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
This is the first time my OS has truly gone screwed up....
[img]
http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6258 ... 107134.png
[/img]
I have a feeling it was very happy about that...
Bochs console says
<Numbers>[CPU0 ]BOUND_GdMa: Fails bounds test
[img]
http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6258 ... 107134.png
[/img]
I have a feeling it was very happy about that...
Bochs console says
<Numbers>[CPU0 ]BOUND_GdMa: Fails bounds test
Not sane
Just remember, FIND Is Not DOS
Just remember, FIND Is Not DOS
- Combuster
- Member
- Posts: 9301
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
- Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
- Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
- Contact:
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
That's usually not your code that's executing.Unkn0wn1 wrote:[CPU0 ]BOUND_GdMa: Fails bounds test
And because it needs to be said again: http://catb.org/~esr/jargon/html/M/McQuary-limit.html <- fix that bug too.
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
After changing the paging model, this is what happened. The text in white at the bottom should say 'Panic!' - well, at least the panic handler was there when needed
- Attachments
-
- Paging fail.
- paging.png (6.68 KiB) Viewed 5847 times
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
Couple of oopses in this screenshot:
1. It appears I've gone and killed my root window and those screen regions aren't being redrawn.
2. Terminal has no way to report its size, and ls is assuming it's running in a full screen terminal.
3. It also looks like I've broken a lock somewhere in the kernel, 'cause that `view` application isn't starting (it's a simple bitmap viewer). Further attempts to open anything also froze their processes.
1 and 2 are non-issues (I accidentally hit the 'kill window' shortcut twice, and the terminal not reporting it's size is simply a missing feature). 3 scares me a bit, though.
1. It appears I've gone and killed my root window and those screen regions aren't being redrawn.
2. Terminal has no way to report its size, and ls is assuming it's running in a full screen terminal.
3. It also looks like I've broken a lock somewhere in the kernel, 'cause that `view` application isn't starting (it's a simple bitmap viewer). Further attempts to open anything also froze their processes.
1 and 2 are non-issues (I accidentally hit the 'kill window' shortcut twice, and the terminal not reporting it's size is simply a missing feature). 3 scares me a bit, though.
- AndreaOrru
- Member
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:50 pm
- Location: New York
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
Close the world, txEn eht nepO
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
Thumbs up for Lain there. : )
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
Not as bad as most people's, but still strange, especially since this is the first time something has bugged on the screen rather than internally.
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
And one more before I go to sleep. Got my segments out of order, and this happened trying to fix it:Ziddia wrote:Not as bad as most people's, but still strange, especially since this is the first time something has bugged on the screen rather than internally.
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
Make sure your stack isn't corrupted.
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
Pretty sure I fixed it.VolTeK wrote:Make sure your stack isn't corrupted.
-
- Member
- Posts: 109
- Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:49 am
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
what was the bug ?Ziddia wrote:Pretty sure I fixed it.VolTeK wrote:Make sure your stack isn't corrupted.
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
Memory segments got messed up when I jumped from my bootsector to another file. It broke my string printing routine.Mozo40 wrote:what was the bug ?Ziddia wrote:Pretty sure I fixed it.VolTeK wrote:Make sure your stack isn't corrupted.
- Griwes
- Member
- Posts: 374
- Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:07 am
- Libera.chat IRC: Griwes
- Location: Wrocław/Racibórz, Poland
- Contact:
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
I think I will laugh off of myself after fixing this, but this is result of first attempt to VBE mode string printing:
http://i.imgur.com/NdB9G.png (1600x1200, not going to embed it here...)
Not sure where I did something wrong, though.
Edit: my code was lacking one "return;" in function handling single characters, but rest was because of bug (I guess, I don't think that bug could hide somewhere in my code, checked it several times) in bochs' VBE code... it was giving me pitch for 1280x1024 in 1600x1200 mode.
http://i.imgur.com/NdB9G.png (1600x1200, not going to embed it here...)
Not sure where I did something wrong, though.
Edit: my code was lacking one "return;" in function handling single characters, but rest was because of bug (I guess, I don't think that bug could hide somewhere in my code, checked it several times) in bochs' VBE code... it was giving me pitch for 1280x1024 in 1600x1200 mode.
Reaver Project :: Repository :: Ohloh project page
<klange> This is a horror story about what happens when you need a hammer and all you have is the skulls of the damned.
<drake1> as long as the lock is read and modified by atomic operations
<klange> This is a horror story about what happens when you need a hammer and all you have is the skulls of the damned.
<drake1> as long as the lock is read and modified by atomic operations
Re: When your OS goes crazy - Screenshots
How did you come across this? I'm writing a VBE driver and it seems I'm fighting Bochs more than my own code with a very similar issue to your screenshot.Griwes wrote:I think I will laugh off of myself after fixing this, but this is result of first attempt to VBE mode string printing:
http://i.imgur.com/NdB9G.png (1600x1200, not going to embed it here...)
Not sure where I did something wrong, though.
Edit: my code was lacking one "return;" in function handling single characters, but rest was because of bug (I guess, I don't think that bug could hide somewhere in my code, checked it several times) in bochs' VBE code... it was giving me pitch for 1280x1024 in 1600x1200 mode.