where should I initialize GDT in my code ?

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
VishalPawale
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:33 am
Location: Pune,India

where should I initialize GDT in my code ?

Post by VishalPawale »

Hi guys,

During creation of GDT where should I intialize them in my code, I mean we need to give physical address of our GDT to LGDT instruction, but what should be that address, will it be fine if I initialize them anywhere in the code?

Please suggest anything which will be good in creating GDT.......
VishalPawale
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:33 am
Location: Pune,India

Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?

Post by VishalPawale »

berkus wrote:You might want to read a tutorial. Most of them cover entering protected mode and as such, setting up a GDT properly.
Actually I read about GDT on site, but have a doubt about where should I initialze GDT, initializing GDT anywhere in my code will it gonna create problem ahead?????
User avatar
Combuster
Member
Member
Posts: 9301
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Contact:

Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?

Post by Combuster »

VishalPawale wrote:Actually I read about GDT on site, but have a doubt about where should I initialze GDT, initializing GDT anywhere in my code will it gonna create problem ahead?????
Maybe if you fix your English you might actually understand what the many tutorials are telling you?
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]
VishalPawale
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:33 am
Location: Pune,India

Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?

Post by VishalPawale »

Combuster wrote:Maybe if you fix your English you might actually understand what the many tutorials are telling you?

Yaaa, I know I'm very bad at English :( , so it will be better if you can give me links to that tutorials because I may not have read that tutorials you are talking about.

Thanks.
User avatar
Combuster
Member
Member
Posts: 9301
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Contact:

Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?

Post by Combuster »

VishalPawale wrote:Yaaa, I know I'm very bad at English :( , so it will be better if you can give me links to that tutorials
If that's what you want, Sure :wink:


No, really.
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]
ACcurrent
Member
Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:04 am
Location: Watching You

Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?

Post by ACcurrent »

Bran's kernel tutorial
JamesM tutorial
Broken thorn tutorial
http://wiki.osdev.org/Tutorials for more tutorials :D
Get back to work!
Github
VishalPawale
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:33 am
Location: Pune,India

Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?

Post by VishalPawale »

Combuster wrote:If that's what you want, Sure :wink:


No, really.

hahahahahhha :wink:

though i got some useful links from your googling................;P


thanks
Post Reply