Hi guys,
During creation of GDT where should I intialize them in my code, I mean we need to give physical address of our GDT to LGDT instruction, but what should be that address, will it be fine if I initialize them anywhere in the code?
Please suggest anything which will be good in creating GDT.......
where should I initialize GDT in my code ?
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:33 am
- Location: Pune,India
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:33 am
- Location: Pune,India
Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?
Actually I read about GDT on site, but have a doubt about where should I initialze GDT, initializing GDT anywhere in my code will it gonna create problem ahead?????berkus wrote:You might want to read a tutorial. Most of them cover entering protected mode and as such, setting up a GDT properly.
- Combuster
- Member
- Posts: 9301
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
- Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
- Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
- Contact:
Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?
Maybe if you fix your English you might actually understand what the many tutorials are telling you?VishalPawale wrote:Actually I read about GDT on site, but have a doubt about where should I initialze GDT, initializing GDT anywhere in my code will it gonna create problem ahead?????
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:33 am
- Location: Pune,India
Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?
Combuster wrote:Maybe if you fix your English you might actually understand what the many tutorials are telling you?
Yaaa, I know I'm very bad at English , so it will be better if you can give me links to that tutorials because I may not have read that tutorials you are talking about.
Thanks.
- Combuster
- Member
- Posts: 9301
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
- Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
- Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
- Contact:
Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?
If that's what you want, SureVishalPawale wrote:Yaaa, I know I'm very bad at English , so it will be better if you can give me links to that tutorials
No, really.
Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?
Bran's kernel tutorial
JamesM tutorial
Broken thorn tutorial
http://wiki.osdev.org/Tutorials for more tutorials
JamesM tutorial
Broken thorn tutorial
http://wiki.osdev.org/Tutorials for more tutorials
Get back to work!
Github
Github
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:33 am
- Location: Pune,India
Re: where should I initialize GDT in my code ?
hahahahahhha
though i got some useful links from your googling................;P
thanks