64bit emulator running on OSX?

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
ATXcs1372
Member
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:14 pm

64bit emulator running on OSX?

Post by ATXcs1372 »

I primarily use OSX as my working operating system and I've gotten tired of rebooting into ubuntu every time I want to change/test even the smallest thing.

This is what I need:
  • MUST be able to emulate 64bit processors
  • Runs on Intel OSX
  • Can load image files (flat, not compressed like VirtualBox/Parallels/etc) as disks
With Qemu I cannot emulate 64bits because it insists on running the emulated machine as a PowerPC process for some ungodly reason and hangs 100% of the time.

With Bochs, I get a panic about the "ltdl library within the bochs bundle" which I have been unable to solve for about a month now.
I'm willing to work with bochs if someone could help me fix the ltdl library problem.

VirtualBox, VMWare, Parallels all require specially formatted images I don't particularly care to deal with.

Any help?
gerryg400
Member
Member
Posts: 1801
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:26 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 64bit emulator running on OSX?

Post by gerryg400 »

I use Vmware Fusion. I boot from either an ISO file or a fat-formatted disk that can be mounted with the VMDKMounter tool that comes with Fusion.

Like you I haven't managed to get Bochs or Qemu to work but admit I've only spent a few hours on them.
If a trainstation is where trains stop, what is a workstation ?
User avatar
Combuster
Member
Member
Posts: 9301
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Contact:

Re: 64bit emulator running on OSX?

Post by Combuster »

regarding qemu, are you actually running qemu-system-x86_64 or some other binary?

regarding bochs, it looks like it tries to do something with shared libraries. Have you compiled it from source (if so, try building with just the SDL frontend and with plugins disabled)? what were your configure options? Do you have a working macports?
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]
User avatar
bluemoon
Member
Member
Posts: 1761
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 3:41 am
Location: Hong Kong

Re: 64bit emulator running on OSX?

Post by bluemoon »

I installed qemu from macport (Porticus front-end)

Here is list of supported CPU:

qemu -cpu ?
x86 [n270]
x86 [athlon]
x86 [pentium3]
x86 [pentium2]
x86 [pentium]
x86 [486]
x86 [coreduo]
x86 [kvm32]
x86 [qemu32]
x86 [kvm64]
x86 [core2duo]
x86 [phenom]
x86 [qemu64]
ATXcs1372 wrote:With Qemu I cannot emulate 64bits because it insists on running the emulated machine as a PowerPC process for some ungodly reason and hangs 100% of the time.
Qemu runs as intel process on my mac pro 2010, did you compile Qemu yourself? have you tried the mac port ?
To emulate x86_64, there is qemu-system-x86_64, there seems no reason they would put something not working on the port tree.
( but I haven't tried it myself as I focus on 32 bits. )

EDIT: I confirm qemu-system-x86_64 runs as 64-bit intel process on my mac.
ATXcs1372
Member
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: 64bit emulator running on OSX?

Post by ATXcs1372 »

Let me begin by saying, yes, I know that I have to use the 64bit qemu. I use this all the time via ubuntu, just not osx.
The bochs problem is a known bug.
The qemu problem explained below.
Combuster wrote:regarding qemu, are you actually running qemu-system-x86_64 or some other binary?

regarding bochs, it looks like it tries to do something with shared libraries. Have you compiled it from source (if so, try building with just the SDL frontend and with plugins disabled)? what were your configure options? Do you have a working macports?
Yes I am running that binary; see below.
bluemoon wrote:I installed qemu from macport (Porticus front-end)
ATXcs1372 wrote:With Qemu I cannot emulate 64bits because it insists on running the emulated machine as a PowerPC process for some ungodly reason and hangs 100% of the time.
Qemu runs as intel process on my mac pro 2010, did you compile Qemu yourself? have you tried the mac port ?
To emulate x86_64, there is qemu-system-x86_64, there seems no reason they would put something not working on the port tree.
( but I haven't tried it myself as I focus on 32 bits. )

EDIT: I confirm qemu-system-x86_64 runs as 64-bit intel process on my mac.
I was able to get the macports version of qemu running.
I previously had built it from source and something must have been messed up there, although a binary I found on macupdate did the same.
ughoavgfhw
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 3:26 pm

Re: 64bit emulator running on OSX?

Post by ughoavgfhw »

I have gotten bochs (2.4.5) to work on OS X. It requires X11 to be installed, and the debugger GUI disabled. My build is configured as follows:

Code: Select all

export CFLAGS='-m32 -arch i386'
export CXXFLAGS=$CFLAGS
./configure --enable-smp --enable-cpu-level=6 --enable-all-optimizations --enable-x86-64 --enable-pci --enable-vmx --enable-debugger --enable-disasm --enable-logging --enable-vbe --enable-fpu --enable-3dnow --enable-sb16=dummy --enable-cdrom --enable-x86-debugger --enable-iodebug --disable-plugins --disable-docbook --with-x11 --disable-debugger-gui
Post Reply