Bug in Bochs?

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
Igor1024
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:19 am

Bug in Bochs?

Post by Igor1024 »

I use Bochs 2.3.7 and noticed that when Bochs shows contents of registers (when #GP occurs, for example), it doesn't take into account granularity flag. I changed G flag at descriptor and Bochs showed the same result (it shows result like G flag is unset). It seems to be bug.
For instance:

Code: Select all

db 0FFh,0FFh,0,0,0,92h,0CFh,0;base 0; limit 0xFFFFF*1000h
is similar with:

Code: Select all

db 0FFh,0FFh,0,0,0,92h,04Fh,0;base 0; limit 0xFFFFF
Last edited by Igor1024 on Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Igor1024
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:19 am

Re: Bug in Bochs?

Post by Igor1024 »

I know it. But according to Bochs they are similar. That the tricky thing.
Is it bug? I think it is.
stlw
Member
Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bug in Bochs?

Post by stlw »

Igor1024 wrote:I know it. But according to Bochs they are similar. That the tricky thing.
Is it bug? I think it is.
Let me guess. You forgot to reload the descriptor after you changed it ?

Please next time try to understand things before you rush to file a bug report. You said nothing about your case, what are you doing and why, sure people would glad to help you and show you your problem.

Stanislav
stlw
Member
Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bug in Bochs?

Post by stlw »

One before you assumed it is AMD CPU bug instead :)

http://forum.osdev.org/viewtopic.php?f= ... hs#p190763

I think it is always better to think of your own issues before trying to blame your tools.

Stanislav
Igor1024
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:19 am

Re: Bug in Bochs?

Post by Igor1024 »

stlw, I didn't forget. I changed G flag at global data descriptor, but the field 'limit' at Bochs didn't change at all, howewer 'G' changed.
Bochs just prints this debug information wrongly (I said it before). It means that it can count G flag when providing operations, but when it prints base and limit of segments, field 'limit' there is wrong.
stlw
Member
Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bug in Bochs?

Post by stlw »

Igor1024 wrote:stlw, I didn't forget. I changed G flag at global data descriptor, but the field 'limit' at Bochs didn't change at all, howewer 'G' changed.
Bochs just prints this debug information wrongly (I said it before). It means that it can count G flag when providing operations, but when it prints base and limit of segments, field 'limit' there is wrong.
But because you cannot show your code as I already tried to hint you, nobody will be able to help you and show you where you were wrong ...

Stanislav
Post Reply