multitasking without TSS

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
Sv9toi
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 11:45 am

multitasking without TSS

Post by Sv9toi »

Hey all!

I want to do task switching without TSS. Who can help me?
a5498828
Member
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:25 am

Re: multitasking without TSS

Post by a5498828 »

hardware task switching require tss by definition.
in software do whatever you like, tss is mandatory only for increasing cpl.
rdos
Member
Member
Posts: 3310
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:55 pm

Re: multitasking without TSS

Post by rdos »

I think that hardware taskswitching is incompatible with SMP (I could be wrong, but it is my impression), so I switched from hardware taskswitching to software taskswitching about a year ago. I still use the TSS though, and save/load registers to/from the TSS (with software), and use LTR to load the new TSS. I think it is a good idea to use the TSS even if hardware taskswitching is not used. The only problem I can see with leaving hardware taskswitching is that some faults that before generated invalid TSS and stack faults, now tend to generate complex faults in the scheduler that sometimes leads to panics, especially when the stack is involved.
Post Reply