how to use bochs
how to use bochs
Hy everyone
i've got to write a boot sequence for school... i'm actually using a amaising floppy disk and rebooting a computer over and over again ... i'm getting sick...
anyway i've find bochs but i dont find how to use it right.
i use nasm to make binary file (nasm boots.asm -o boots.bin -f bin)
and dd to transfer it into my flopy (dd if=boot.bin of=/dev/sda0)
how can i do the same with bochs?
i've got to write a boot sequence for school... i'm actually using a amaising floppy disk and rebooting a computer over and over again ... i'm getting sick...
anyway i've find bochs but i dont find how to use it right.
i use nasm to make binary file (nasm boots.asm -o boots.bin -f bin)
and dd to transfer it into my flopy (dd if=boot.bin of=/dev/sda0)
how can i do the same with bochs?
-
- Member
- Posts: 47
- Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 8:27 am
Re: how to use bochs
This should do it:
It essentially boots off whatever is inside the floppy a: drive.
Code: Select all
romimage: file=BIOS-bochs-latest, address=0xf0000
vgaromimage: file=VGABIOS-lgpl-latest
floppya: 1_44=a:, status=inserted
log: report.log
Re: how to use bochs
Message: ROM: System BIOS must end at 0xfffff
and if i'm using bochs it's to stop using a real floppy.... how can i create and use img?
and if i'm using bochs it's to stop using a real floppy.... how can i create and use img?
Re: how to use bochs
Replace address=0xf0000 by address=0xe0000. The size of the Bochs BIOS is 128kb, not 64kb.vinise wrote:Message: ROM: System BIOS must end at 0xfffff
RawWrite can do that.vinise wrote:and if i'm using bochs it's to stop using a real floppy.... how can i create and use img?
"Open source seems to embrace the dark side of human nature." - Ville Turjanmaa
Re: how to use bochs
RawWrite make img out off a floppy...
i want to make img from mine binary file... and boot on my binarry file
i want to make img from mine binary file... and boot on my binarry file
Re: how to use bochs
very not useful for linux :/Hangin10 wrote:http://wiki.osdev.org/Virtual_Floppy_Disk
Next time, search the wiki first.
- Combuster
- Member
- Posts: 9301
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
- Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
- Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
- Contact:
Re: how to use bochs
dd can be used just as well for image files as it can be used for actual devices. But Hangin is right - there are a ton of methods to create images, if only you bothered to search. Shame on you for not finding the first entry in the frequently asked questions.
Re: how to use bochs
if you're speaking of this http://wiki.osdev.org/Disk_Images i've seen it and try... but it's not working... i may do something wrong ere is what's im doing:Combuster wrote:dd can be used just as well for image files as it can be used for actual devices. But Hangin is right - there are a ton of methods to create images, if only you bothered to search. Shame on you for not finding the first entry in the frequently asked questions.
Code: Select all
dd if=/dev/zero of=floppy.flp bs=512 count=2880
nasm boot1.asm -o boot1.bin -f bin
dd if=boot1.bin of=floppy.flp
Code: Select all
romimage: file=/usr/share/bochs/BIOS-bochs-latest, address=0xe0000
vgaromimage: file=/usr/share/bochs/VGABIOS-lgpl-latest
floppya: 1_44=~/floppy.flp, status=inserted
log: report.log
Booting from Floppy...
Boot failed could not read the boot disk
FATAL: No bootable device.
Re: how to use bochs
Hi ,
Use this instead .
If you have noticed the size of the floopy img reduces to 512 bytes after your last command . I have to look at the dd manual though , I do not have a linux box at my desk.
--Thomas
Code: Select all
dd if=/dev/zero of=floppy.flp bs=512 count=2880
nasm boot1.asm -o boot1.bin -f bin
dd if=boot1.bin of=floppy.flp
Code: Select all
dd if=boot1.bin of=floppy.flp conv= notrunc seek=0
--Thomas
Re: how to use bochs
hy
i've look the all night...
thanks Thomas... it was a part of the problem but the other part came from my boot sequence
I used to do the boot signature as :
and it's not working with bochs ... a bit strange... it's working find with a real floppy and a computer
anyway i put
and it's working just fine
Thanks to every one
i've look the all night...
thanks Thomas... it was a part of the problem but the other part came from my boot sequence
I used to do the boot signature as :
Code: Select all
DB 0x55,0xAA
anyway i put
Code: Select all
DW 0x55AA
Thanks to every one
- Owen
- Member
- Posts: 1700
- Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 3:21 pm
- Location: Cambridge, United Kingdom
- Contact:
Re: how to use bochs
One word: Endian
Re: how to use bochs
If you have seen bad English in my words, tell me what's wrong, please.