GDT refresh

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
User avatar
intel_breaker
Member
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

GDT refresh

Post by intel_breaker »

Hi, I have one simple question:
If i used tss with one of GDT entries, and I change offset (base address) of this GDT segment - must I refresh segment (or what this is called):
For example:
if i would unlimited the tss strucures count, I use one address for all tss'es - address 0x400000. Before I switch to the next task, scheduler map process tss to this address (in kernel's pgd and process's pgd)

*Sorry about language mistakes:)
digo_rp
Member
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: GDT refresh

Post by digo_rp »

if you want an example go to
http://cody.homelinux.com/~digo_rp/

and take my source PcOSX.zip

it is in gcc with nasm I use tss struc. dinamic alocation etc.

:D
User avatar
intel_breaker
Member
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: GDT refresh

Post by intel_breaker »

Yeah, thx for code, but you use a diffrent selectors for every tss struct (I'm working on method that afford me use one selector for all tss structs), another thing is this, that you have a MAX_TASKS macro, I want have unlimited tasks count:) But thx for help
Post Reply