Virtual Machine

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
scrat
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: Moscow

Virtual Machine

Post by scrat »

Ok, I compiled test real-adress code with fasm on win.
Now I need to test it on Virtual Machine.
I tried to make bootable floppy and use it with Sun Virtualbox, but it doesn't work.

Please advice smth to use.
User avatar
f2
Member
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:01 am
Location: France

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by f2 »

What's wrong? What is the error message? Is that your OS is buggy? Or maybe the floppy image is broken?
Trying to tell us more about what happens when you test your OS in a virtual machine.
"Open source seems to embrace the dark side of human nature." - Ville Turjanmaa
scrat
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by scrat »

I used Winimage for making floppy image.
1. selected my "os.bin" file in "image" -> "boot sector properties"
2. saved image file in format .imz
3. mounted it on my Virtual Machine
4. nothing happens(no output or smth else)
User avatar
f2
Member
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:01 am
Location: France

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by f2 »

scrat wrote: 2. saved image file in format .imz
IMZ files are compressed floppy images. I don't know if VirtualBox supports this format.
Try to save your image in uncompressed format IMA.

P.S.: you can use BFI for building FAT12 floppy images. And this tool is free!
"Open source seems to embrace the dark side of human nature." - Ville Turjanmaa
scrat
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by scrat »

1. Runned bfi.exe with -o="os.bin" and -b="load.bin", where load.bin is bootable 512bit binary made by Winimage.
2. Loaded img file to Virtualbox and got boot text from image and message, that vm cannot boot from harddisk.

:(
User avatar
f2
Member
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:01 am
Location: France

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by f2 »

scrat wrote:1. Runned bfi.exe with -o="os.bin" and -b="load.bin", where load.bin is bootable 512bit binary made by Winimage.
2. Loaded img file to Virtualbox and got boot text from image and message, that vm cannot boot from harddisk.

:(
Is that your boot sector supports the FAT12 file system? Otherwise, it is normal for BFI and WinImage does not work!
If yes, this is a little help on the use of BFI:

Code: Select all

bfi -f=<floppy image name> -b=<boot sector> <dir>
<dir> is the folder that contains all files to be included on the floppy image.
"Open source seems to embrace the dark side of human nature." - Ville Turjanmaa
scrat
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by scrat »

Tommy wrote:
scrat wrote:1. Runned bfi.exe with -o="os.bin" and -b="load.bin", where load.bin is bootable 512bit binary made by Winimage.
2. Loaded img file to Virtualbox and got boot text from image and message, that vm cannot boot from harddisk.

:(
Is that your boot sector supports the FAT12 file system? Otherwise, it is normal for BFI and WinImage does not work!
If yes, this is a little help on the use of BFI:

Code: Select all

bfi -f=<floppy image name> -b=<boot sector> <dir>
<dir> is the folder that contains all files to be included on the floppy image.
Ok, how can I create bootsector normally?
User avatar
f2
Member
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:01 am
Location: France

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by f2 »

scrat wrote: Ok, how can I create bootsector normally?
...
where load.bin is bootable 512bit binary made by Winimage.
#-o Understood! You use WinImage for generating FAT12 boot sector. I had forgotten he could do that!
You can use WinImage yet, it (normally) works.
But in the future, write your own boot sector!
"Open source seems to embrace the dark side of human nature." - Ville Turjanmaa
scrat
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by scrat »

I didn't understood, I'm selecting file for bootsector in my filesystem, and then making image with it, how can it work?
User avatar
kop99
Member
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:58 am

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by kop99 »

Instead of making floppy image, you can use your own boot loader directly.
scrat
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: Virtual Machine

Post by scrat »

kop99 wrote:Instead of making floppy image, you can use your own boot loader directly.
how?
Post Reply