Enabling Interupts
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 4:57 pm
Enabling Interupts
Before you tell me to RTFW, I have already but I don't fully understand how to enable interrupts. I have my basic kernel, inb, outb, and print functions. But in order to use the inb and outb I have have to enable interrupts correct? It would really be appreciated if someone could tell me how to enable interrupts
- alethiophile
- Member
- Posts: 90
- Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 10:28 am
Re: Enabling Interupts
Code: Select all
asm volatile ("sti");
If I had an OS, there would be a link here.
-
- Member
- Posts: 204
- Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:15 am
- Location: Michigan
Re: Enabling Interupts
The sti instruction?GhostSniper wrote:Before you tell me to RTFW, I have already but I don't fully understand how to enable interrupts
Incorrect. Port I/O has nothing to do with interrupts.GhostSniper wrote:I have my basic kernel, inb, outb, and print functions. But in order to use the inb and outb I have have to enable interrupts correct?
Some people are offended by the verifiable truth; such people tend to remain blissfully unencumbered by fact.
If you are one of these people, my posts may cause considerable discomfort. Read at your own risk.
If you are one of these people, my posts may cause considerable discomfort. Read at your own risk.