SWITCHING TO PROTECTED MODE

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
drkameleon
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 12:00 am

SWITCHING TO PROTECTED MODE

Post by drkameleon »

HOW CAN I SET UP 32-BIT PROTECTED MODE???
User avatar
ManOfSteel
Member
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:00 am

Re: SWITCHING TO PROTECTED MODE

Post by ManOfSteel »

- disable interrupts
- load GDT
- load IDT (if you have one and wish to use it)
- set cr0 register bit 1
- do a jump to a 32 bits location
- load segment registers with their protected mode segment selector values
- setup new stack
- enable interrupts
frizzz
Member
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SWITCHING TO PROTECTED MODE

Post by frizzz »

Look at my homepage and find a very well commented example, how to do what You desire...
www.rcfriz.de
Post Reply