Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
Craze Frog
Member
Member
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:52 am

Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by Craze Frog »

I can't get the "bright" console colours (8-F) to work in vmware, when I use them as background colours. When I use them as foreground colours everything works fine.

This gives me bright green on green:

Code: Select all

mov byte [$b8000+1], $2A
While this gives me green on green:

Code: Select all

mov byte [$b8000+3], $A2
What's up?
CodeCat
Member
Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 1:45 pm
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands

Re: Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by CodeCat »

The last bit in a colour does not necessarily make the colour bright if it's used as a background. There are some VGA settings that control its actual use, but I think by default it makes the text blinking rather than the background bright.
Craze Frog
Member
Member
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:52 am

Re: Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by Craze Frog »

Oh, but it doesn't blink either.
User avatar
Love4Boobies
Member
Member
Posts: 2111
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:36 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by Love4Boobies »

What do you mean? It's doing exactly what you told it... And it is blinking... it's just blinking green on green...
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons.", Popular Mechanics (1949)
[ Project UDI ]
Craze Frog
Member
Member
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:52 am

Re: Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by Craze Frog »

When I say it's not blinking, I mean it's not blinking. So if I use $A0 I get black on dark green, and with $20 I get exactly the same. No blinking.
User avatar
Combuster
Member
Member
Posts: 9301
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Contact:

Re: Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by Combuster »

I think it has to do with the fact that emulating a VGA environment with blinking enabled is relatively slow since it requires you to draw things over and over. That and VMs/emulators tend to have slightly broken VGA suppport.

You can have a look at AC register 0x10 - blinking can be enabled and disabled and it might just be off by default.
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]
User avatar
Love4Boobies
Member
Member
Posts: 2111
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:36 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by Love4Boobies »

No - even in emulators, it's on by default. Look at the colors. It's a blinking green foreground over a green background. That's why you can't see the blinking...
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons.", Popular Mechanics (1949)
[ Project UDI ]
Craze Frog
Member
Member
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:52 am

Re: Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by Craze Frog »

Love4Boobies wrote:No - even in emulators, it's on by default. Look at the colors. It's a blinking green foreground over a green background. That's why you can't see the blinking...
I just told you that even if I set the foreground to black and the background to bright green, I get a foreground of black and background of dark green without blinking. It's not green on green, it's black on green, and it's not blinking.
User avatar
Love4Boobies
Member
Member
Posts: 2111
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:36 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by Love4Boobies »

Maybe it's just the emulator itself. For instance, I know that on Windows older than Vista (haven't tried on either Vista or 7) blinking doesn't work in the console, unless in fullscreen mode. QEMU's support for text mode stinks. Maybe it's Virtual PC to blame... Try writing some dummy code on a floppy disk and booting with it, to check if your blinking code works.
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons.", Popular Mechanics (1949)
[ Project UDI ]
User avatar
Brendan
Member
Member
Posts: 8561
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:00 am
Location: At his keyboard!
Contact:

Re: Unable to get "bright" colours in vmware

Post by Brendan »

Hi,
CodeCat wrote:The last bit in a colour does not necessarily make the colour bright if it's used as a background. There are some VGA settings that control its actual use, but I think by default it makes the text blinking rather than the background bright.
Yes.

Try "Int 0x10, AX=0x1003" and see if you can enable background intensity.

I wouldn't worry about blinking - if it does work it's ugly anyway. :D


Cheers,

Brendan
For all things; perfection is, and will always remain, impossible to achieve in practice. However; by striving for perfection we create things that are as perfect as practically possible. Let the pursuit of perfection be our guide.
Post Reply