Error with Bochs... "couldn't open ROM file"...

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
eddyb
Member
Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:52 am

Re: Error with Bochs... "couldn't open ROM file"...

Post by eddyb »

qemu is so simple, so all the configuration you pass via arguments.
if you use KDE(but I think it works also in GNOME), I recommend you qtemu. just install it from your repo and then run it in a shell. it's a graphical qemu configuration app.
Spyes
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:10 pm

Re: Error with Bochs... "couldn't open ROM file"...

Post by Spyes »

Uuuughhh qemu isn't working either.....
Maybe I'm not running it correctly though? I tried a few different things like qemu -hda floppy.img and the like... when it does actually 'work' it says 'couldn't boot from cd' or something like that.. any suggestions on how to run qemu?

Thanks guys! Sorry if I'm not getting some basic stuff... I'm still learning ;)
User avatar
LMN
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Error with Bochs... "couldn't open ROM file"...

Post by LMN »

For floppy images you should use qemu -fda floppy.img. Only for harddisk and cdrom image -hda is suitable.
Spyes
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:10 pm

Re: Error with Bochs... "couldn't open ROM file"...

Post by Spyes »

Hmmm...
so yeah, I did
root@box:~/Kernel# qemu -fda floppy.img
and it didn't return any errors, just this:
warning: could not create temporary file in '/dev/shm'.
Use QEMU_TMPDIR to select a directory in a tmpfs filesystem.
Using '/tmp' as fallback.
Could not open '/dev/kqemu' - QEMU acceleration layer not activated: No such file or directory

And now I have a QEMU window open, it's blank and doesn't do anything....
Spyes
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:10 pm

Re: Error with Bochs... "couldn't open ROM file"...

Post by Spyes »

K, I got it to actually do something, but now it's stuck at "Boot from Hard Disk 0 failed"
I'm calling qemu -fda floppy.img.... what's wrong?
Spyes
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:10 pm

Re: Error with Bochs... "couldn't open ROM file"...

Post by Spyes »

OK, an update!
I ran qemu on my Windows machine, and it actually got to the grub command line!
However, when do I do "boot 200+7" it freezes......
Any ideas? Thanks!
(btw, I'm running qemu here just as I would on linux: ./qemu -L . -fda floppy.img)
User avatar
goku
Member
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:32 am
Location: until we meet again!!

Re: Error with Bochs... "couldn't open ROM file"...

Post by goku »

Well i haven't worked on qemu but i do use bochs. this is my bochsrc.txt file

Code: Select all


megs: 32
romimage: file="~/Documents/bochs-2.3.7/bios/BIOS-bochs-legacy", address=0xf0000
vgaromimage: file="/home/mayank/Documents/bochs-2.3.7/bios/VGABIOS-lgpl-latest"

vga: extension=vbe
floppya: image="~/College/KERNEL/floppy.img", status=inserted

boot: floppy
log: bochsout.txt
mouse: enabled=0
ips: 15000000
vga_update_interval: 150000
i440fxsupport: enabled=1

This is all that you may need to get started (..well i never needed more than these..)
The only thing you need to change here is the path in double quotes to match your own. I would recommend to use absolute paths than relative path names.

And while running bochs use

Code: Select all

bochs -f "path to your bochsrc.txt file"

Cheers.
Post Reply