Testing The Mobius + Clicker

This forums is for OS project announcements including project openings, new releases, update notices, test requests, and job openings (both paying and volunteer).
Post Reply
chris

Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by chris »

I set up Bochs on Mac OS X to boot from the hard disk. When I tryed to boot with both kernels they failed. Clicker says "800080008000DEAD" and The Mobius gets no further than "Loading...". On an older verion of The Mobius it got to the GRUB screen. I'm assuming this is all problems caused by Bochs and not the kernels?

btw I'm posting this here because there was no "reply" button in the other thead ??? Maybe a Moderator can move it.
chris

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by chris »

Code: Select all

00000340075i[KBD  ] reset-disable command received
00000537859i[HD   ] enabling LBA mode
00000543465i[BIOS ] ata0-0: PCHS=940/6/17 translation=none LCHS=940/6/17
00000561128e[HD   ] device set to 1 which does not exist
00000583096i[BIOS ] int13_harddisk: function 02, parameters out of range 0000/0001/0012!
00125530000i[CTRL ] quit_sim called with exit code 0
Here is the bottom bit of bochsout.txt. Maybe some one can make sense of it?
chris

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by chris »

Hmm... DLX Linux works fine on MacBochs. I guess i'll have to wait for Tim and Pype's comments.

Here is the bochsrc.txt btw

Code: Select all

# how much memory the emulated machine will have
megs: 32

# filename of ROM images
romimage: file=$BXSHARE/BIOS-bochs-latest, address=0xf0000
vgaromimage: $BXSHARE/VGABIOS-elpin-2.40

# hard disk
ata0: enabled=1, ioaddr1=0x1f0, ioaddr2=0x3f0, irq=14
ata0-master: type=disk, path="floppy.img", cylinders=306, heads=4, spt=17

# choose the boot disk.
boot: c

# default config interface is textconfig.
config_interface: textconfig
#config_interface: wx


#display_library: x
# other choices: win32 sdl wx carbon amigaos beos macintosh nogui rfb term

# where do we send log messages?
log: bochsout.txt

# disable the mouse
mouse: enabled=0

# enable key mapping, using US layout as default.

keyboard_mapping: enabled=1, map=$BXSHARE/keymaps/x11-pc-us.map
#keyboard_mapping: enabled=1, map=$BXSHARE/keymaps/x11-pc-fr.map
#keyboard_mapping: enabled=1, map=$BXSHARE/keymaps/x11-pc-de.map
#keyboard_mapping: enabled=1, map=$BXSHARE/keymaps/x11-pc-es.map
It's currently set on The Mobius's image...
User avatar
Pype.Clicker
Member
Member
Posts: 5964
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
Contact:

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by Pype.Clicker »

err. Clicker can only boot from floppy so far, so setting 'floppy.img' as the hard disk image is certainly no good idea.

What you'll have to do is attaching the clicker-generated 'disk.bin' to the floppy and set "boot: a"
Then use bximage to generate a fake hard disk file (hda.img, for instance) and attach that one to ata0-master.
chris

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by chris »

There is no floppy drive ??? I've made the hd image.
User avatar
Pype.Clicker
Member
Member
Posts: 5964
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
Contact:

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by Pype.Clicker »

you do not need a floppy drive on your real machine in order to simulate a floppy drive in bochs. They are different kind of beasts.
Clicker does not boot from a HDD so far. Period.
chris

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by chris »

Ok I fixed it, it boots Clicker properly now. Thanks! :)

One more question though: My kernel uses GRUB, and so far i've just been replacing the kernel file on the GRUB disk to test it. What needs to be done to make my own images so I can test them in bochs, since I now have no floppy?
User avatar
Pype.Clicker
Member
Member
Posts: 5964
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
Contact:

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by Pype.Clicker »

if you create a 1.44Mb blank file and run "mkdosfs" on it, and then mount it as a loop device (provided that MacOS X accept it), you should be able to put the files you want on the floppy image even without a floppy drive. Then unmount the loop device and you can just run bochs on the image ...

Code: Select all


         mount /tmp/fdimage /mnt -t msdos -o loop=/dev/loop3,blocksize=1024

see man mount for more info ...
chris

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by chris »

mkdosfs doesn't exist on *BSD, they use newfs (newfs_msdos). I'm not sure how to create a 1.44MB file but I create a 1 byte one called bleh (touch bleh) then ran the following:

[Aurora:/tmp] chris% newfs_msdos bleh
newfs_msdos: /dev/bleh: No such file or directory
[Aurora:/tmp] chris% newfs_msdos /tmp/bleh
newfs_msdos: warning: /tmp/bleh is not a character device
newfs_msdos: ioctl (GDINFO): Inappropriate ioctl for device
newfs_msdos: /tmp/bleh: can't figure out partition info

I don't think it'd change if the file was 1.44MB? So, is there any other way it is possible to do this? Also /dev/loop3 doesn't exist and I'm not sure if the "loop=" is a possible option for mount (on *BSD). I looked through mount's man file for it and found nothing. man mount | grep loop found nothing either :-\

...bah why does OS dev have to involve floppys ;)
User avatar
df
Member
Member
Posts: 1076
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by df »

that was linux instructions. my guess is you want freebsd type instructions for the macosx userland....

in freebsd i do;

first, create image file..

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=image.bin bs=1k count=1440
mount it;

Code: Select all

vnconfig -c vn0c floppy.img
make the FS

Code: Select all

newfs_msdos -f 1440 /dev/vn0c
then you can moun it

Code: Select all

mount -t msdos /dev/vn0c /mnt/floppyimage
dont forget to

Code: Select all

umount /mnt/floppyimage 
vnconfig -u /dev/vn0c
to unmount it cleanly...

(if macosx userland is updated to freebsd5.0, then it uses mdconfig instead of vnconfig, which is similar. just man mdconfig)
-- Stu --
chris

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by chris »

Hmm.. weird, MacOS X doesn't have vnconfig or mdconfig. Maybe their is an alternative or maybe i'll be able to find it. Thanks for the info.
chris

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by chris »

I have Disk Utility that can make disk images, and there is bximage that came with Bochs that can make disk and floppy images. I copied the contents of a previously setup floppy disk (GRUB + kern) onto my hd and then created a floppy image using bximage but it didn't boot properly. I'm assuming this isn't the proper way to do it?
chris

Re:Testing The Mobius + Clicker

Post by chris »

I am going to repost the current problem in the main forum, where it is relevant.
Post Reply