bochs & mp tables

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
blound
Member
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 1:36 pm

bochs & mp tables

Post by blound »

I read some posts on here and brendan imparticular had some from 2006 highlighting boch's and its problems with the apic & smp; Today I read through the mp specs and wrote some code that to find the tables in memory but I am not having any luck under bochs.

I scanned the 4 areas designated in the spec and I checked the linux source and they scan the same regions. I have a full check for a proper structure but also one liners for _MP_ and _PM_ in memory, but nothing is found in the regions. Does Bochs not provide an mp table? or what do you have to do to make it provide one? Here are my configure options to bochs:

Code: Select all

--enable-smp --enable-apic --enable-pci --enable-global-pages --enable-mtrr --enable-debugger --enable-disasm --enable-readline --enable-logging --enable-sep --with-x --with-gnu-ld --enable-4meg-pages
I tried with varying number of processors and the tables never showed up. I also looked again through the bochsrc man page sort of thing and nothing stuck out that I was missing.
Kicer
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:00 am

Re: bochs & mp tables

Post by Kicer »

i have the same problem. in bochs newer than 2.3, there (probably) is no mp table. I wrote to bochs developers and i hope they will fix this.
actually i just use apic to find other processors :)
User avatar
Combuster
Member
Member
Posts: 9301
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Contact:

Re: bochs & mp tables

Post by Combuster »

The absence of an MP table in favor or an APIC table is what happens on real computers too. I therefore doubt the bochs developers would consider it a bug if you can still find out about multiple processors in a correct way.

Edit: with ACPI disabled the MP tables don't appear either :(
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]
geppy
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: bochs & mp tables

Post by geppy »

In bochs 2.3.7 precompiled for windows MP signature "_MP_" is at 0xFB850 with the config file that doesn't touch any MP settings(if thats possible at all). ACPI present as well somewhere.
Post Reply