What is windows doing on PCI device(NIC) when it reboots ?

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
User avatar
david
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:22 am
Location: Beijing.China
Contact:

What is windows doing on PCI device(NIC) when it reboots ?

Post by david »

What is windows doing on PCI device(NIC) when it reboots ?
The light of NIC is off when windows reboots!
I wonder why windows do this on PCI device.
I think it is like disable NIC device in windows OS.
How i put the status of NIC's light on.
Another words, How to enable a PCI device when you disable it in Windows.

Does Linux also do this when it reboots ?
Just For Fun
jal
Member
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 9:09 am

Re: What is windows doing on PCI device(NIC) when it reboots

Post by jal »

david wrote:What is windows doing on PCI device(NIC) when it reboots ?
The light of NIC is off when windows reboots!
I wonder why windows do this on PCI device.
I think it is like disable NIC device in windows OS.
How i put the status of NIC's light on.
Another words, How to enable a PCI device when you disable it in Windows. Does Linux also do this when it reboots ?
I really have no idea what you mean to ask here. This is an OS development forum, not a "hey, my computer did something weird, please explain" newbie forum!


JAL
User avatar
01000101
Member
Member
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:47 pm
Contact:

Post by 01000101 »

From the sounds of it, you disabled your network card in windows and now you are concerned about it's lack of life?

if that is the case, you might want to... enable it. :roll:

usually when you tell the OS to kill communication with the device... it kills the communication with the device. lol.
User avatar
kmcguire
Member
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:00 am
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: What is windows doing on PCI device(NIC) when it reboots

Post by kmcguire »

david wrote:What is windows doing on PCI device(NIC) when it reboots ?
The light of NIC is off when windows reboots!
I wonder why windows do this on PCI device.
I think it is like disable NIC device in windows OS.
How i put the status of NIC's light on.
Another words, How to enable a PCI device when you disable it in Windows.
Does Linux also do this when it reboots ?
I have not worked with a network card in a low-level fashion much, but, apparently, the LED is signifying that the link (connection) is enabled and active. This is likely controlled using registers on the network card that are accessed using MMIO or IO instructions.

The light going on and off is not anything Windows does. The driver _may_ do it, and then it again it may not. It is like a disable device in windows. Linux, has to do the same operations to enable the network card as Windows did.
User avatar
david
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:22 am
Location: Beijing.China
Contact:

Post by david »

For example: Realtek 8168 NIC, most of our motherlands use this NIC.

Code: Select all

BaseIO dw 0    ; the NIC's base IO address

mov eax, 800E0000h
mov dx, cs:BaseIO
add dx, 60h
out dx, eax

Then the LED turns on.
But i still don't know what is windows doing on NIC when windows shutdowns.
It is the result I trace rset8168.exe.
But I don't know Why.
Because I don't have the Realtek8168 specification for software design.
The realtek enterprise doesn't offer the specification downland on its website.
Please send me if you have the specification and you are happy to do it!
[email protected]
I also will be happy if you could tell me the downland link of the Realtek8168 specification.
Just For Fun
scott
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:31 pm

Post by scott »

Realtek are one of the nicest companies i have seen for specs.

try going here, http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/ , on the left hand side select what device category you are looking for and then you can select datasheets.
User avatar
david
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:22 am
Location: Beijing.China
Contact:

Post by david »

He only offers Realtek8168 specification for hardware design.
I need the specification for software design.
The specification for software design has the detail information of RTL8168's registers.
Just For Fun
jal
Member
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 9:09 am

Post by jal »

david wrote:He only offers Realtek8168 specification for hardware design. I need the specification for software design.
The specification for software design has the detail information of RTL8168's registers.
A bit of Googling found this page, which may have some useful information. Appearently when you ask Realtek, you can receive the specifications.


JAL
Post Reply