Question about graphics

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
ComputerPsi
Member
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:00 pm

Question about graphics

Post by ComputerPsi »

In svga graphics, one can switch banks of memory in order to use all the memory on a video card. In order to completely write to all of the memory, one needs to know the max amount of memory that can be written without switching banks. (64 kb, 128 kb, etc). Does anybody know how to do that efficently?
Anything is possible if you put your mind to it.
ComputerPsi
User avatar
Dex
Member
Member
Posts: 1444
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:00 am
Contact:

Post by Dex »

Do they not default to 64k ?.
ComputerPsi
Member
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:00 pm

Post by ComputerPsi »

There are some video cards that don't. I am not certain of how to detect it.
Anything is possible if you put your mind to it.
ComputerPsi
User avatar
carbonBased
Member
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Wellesley, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Question about graphics

Post by carbonBased »

ComputerPsi wrote:In svga graphics, one can switch banks of memory in order to use all the memory on a video card. In order to completely write to all of the memory, one needs to know the max amount of memory that can be written without switching banks. (64 kb, 128 kb, etc). Does anybody know how to do that efficently?
If you're using VESA APIs, this is included as part of the APIs:

Check out int 0x10, ax == 0x4F01;

es:di points to an application allocated VDE_ModeInfo structure which will contain the number of banks, and their sizes.

--Jeff
Post Reply