How Can I make a boot Image?

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
parkys1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:56 am
Contact:

How Can I make a boot Image?

Post by parkys1 »

I have a lap top computer.

So I don't have any floppy disk driver.

How can I make a boot disk Image for vmware...

my code is very simple...

Code: Select all

[org 0]
[bits 16]
jmp 0x07C0:start
mov ax, cs
mov ds, ax

mov ax, 0xB800
mov es, ax
mov di, 0
mov ax, word[msgBack]
mov cx, 0x7FF

paint:
mov word[es:di], ax
add di, 2
dec cx
jnz paint

mov edi, 0
mov byte[es:edi], 'A'
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], 0x06
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], 'B'
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], 0x06
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], 'C'
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], 0x06
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], '1'
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], 0x06
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], '2'
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], 0x06
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], '3'
inc edi
mov byte[es:edi], 0x06
jmp $

msgBack db '.', 0x67

times 510-($-$$) db 0
dw 0xAA55


but I couldn't make an image file for wmware...

But there is an image file... someone makes this...

http://www.pyrasis.com/main/MicroC/OS-I ... yimage.zip

there is an ucos-ii Image file...

so if I use this image file I can boot from this image...

I try to make a image file using WinImage... I don't know if other people

use this program... and what is right...

please tell me how can I make a image file without floppy driver...


please...
User avatar
sleepsleep
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:15 am

Post by sleepsleep »

but I couldn't make an image file for wmware.
once you assembled (fasm, or nasm or masm) your code, probably you get file end with extension .bin or etc.

rename the assembled file to end with extension .flp :)
coz vmware only see floppy imagefile with extension .flp

happy coding 8)

:idea:
if you don't like the idea of renaming the file, just type in the exact path\filename.bin and it would loads too.

Image
Mikae
Member
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 1:08 pm

Post by Mikae »

Also, you can use Bochs http://bochs.sf.net -- emulator x86 with debugging abilities. I heard, that it has some bugs, but it can be very usefull for simple code.
parkys1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:56 am
Contact:

Post by parkys1 »

Thanks a lot...
It works very well...
Post Reply