QEMU in Windows problem.

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
User avatar
01000101
Member
Member
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:47 pm
Contact:

QEMU in Windows problem.

Post by 01000101 »

Hi,
I've been trying to get QEMU to emulate an x86 with two RTL8139 NICs.

So far I have got QEMU to virtually put the cards in, but it seems that it will not allow packets to be accepted or transmitted from them.

My OS can enumerate the devices (yes both) and acknowledges both of their unique IRQ lines and MAC addresses, but never gets a single interrupt from them of any kind.

I have tested the timer interrupt and it fires just fine and at a reasonably accurate speed, but no dice on the NICs.

below is my batch script that starts the emulator.

Code: Select all

@echo off
qemu.exe -L . -m 64 -fda //./a: -boot a -net nic,model=rtl8139,macaddr=12:34:56:78:9A:BC -net user -net nic,model=rtl8139 -net user
Any help is extremely appreciated.
Thanks
User avatar
Zacariaz
Member
Member
Posts: 1069
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 2:36 pm
Contact:

Post by Zacariaz »

Shouldn't you specify a mac for both of them?
Just a wild guess, but you'll never know ;)
This was supposed to be a cool signature...
jzgriffin
Member
Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 1:40 pm
Libera.chat IRC: Nokurn
Location: Ontario, CA, USA
Contact:

Post by jzgriffin »

Do you have a TAP device installed for the OS?

http://www.h7.dion.ne.jp/~qemu-win/TapWin32-en.html
iammisc
Member
Member
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 6:23 pm

Post by iammisc »

Without a tap device you can only use tcp/ip so if you're sending packets that don't correspond to that, then you won't be able to use the cards.
Post Reply