Hi,
The laptop I am using to dev has an AMD Turion 64 Processor. It is the only 64 bit computer I have and i am writing a 64 bit only os. Does any body know of ANY 64 bit emulators? I would hate to have to restart my computer every single time i make a development.
IA-64 Emulators
IA-64 Emulators
Last edited by jakelstr on Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Real corn makes it special!" -The Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy
MMM...Caffeine
Intel Inside, Idiot Outside
MMM...Caffeine
Intel Inside, Idiot Outside
-
- Member
- Posts: 134
- Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 11:00 pm
- Location: North Dakota, where the buffalo roam
Re: IA-64 Emulators
Are you looking for an x86-64, or an IA-64 emulator as the thread topic indicates? They are quite different.jakelstr wrote:Hi,
The laptop I am using to dev has a AMD Turion 64 Processor. It is the only 64 bit computer I have and i am writing a 64 bit only os. Does any body know of ANY 64 bit emulators? I would hate to have to restart my computer every single time i make a development.
As Spook mentions, Bochs is good, and also <a href="http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu/">Qemu</a>, which supports more architectures than just x86.
VMWare Player: supports x86-64, and is the most popular virtualization tool availible
afaik MS Virtual Server also supports 64bit (but i could be wrong about that)
bochs -- generally considered best for OSdev, since it has better trouble-shooting options
all of these are of course free tools, downloadable on there respective websites
afaik MS Virtual Server also supports 64bit (but i could be wrong about that)
bochs -- generally considered best for OSdev, since it has better trouble-shooting options
all of these are of course free tools, downloadable on there respective websites
Sorry
Sorry,
I just realized that I typed IA-64 instead of x86-64.
Can any one tell me how to tell bochs to emulate a 64 bit processor?
I just realized that I typed IA-64 instead of x86-64.
Can any one tell me how to tell bochs to emulate a 64 bit processor?
"Real corn makes it special!" -The Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy
MMM...Caffeine
Intel Inside, Idiot Outside
MMM...Caffeine
Intel Inside, Idiot Outside
- carbonBased
- Member
- Posts: 382
- Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:00 am
- Location: Wellesley, Ontario, Canada
- Contact:
Do you have a build of bochs with x86-64 support enabled?
You'll need to compile with --enable-x86-64 first (by default it's disabled).
I would suspect (although I don't know for sure) that you wouldn't need any runtime configuration. The emulator would simply support 64-bit instructions, and allow entering long mode.
--Jeff
You'll need to compile with --enable-x86-64 first (by default it's disabled).
I would suspect (although I don't know for sure) that you wouldn't need any runtime configuration. The emulator would simply support 64-bit instructions, and allow entering long mode.
--Jeff
- xenos
- Member
- Posts: 1121
- Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:00 pm
- Libera.chat IRC: xenos1984
- Location: Tartu, Estonia
- Contact:
Another possibility is to use AMD SimNow!, which I use normally. It has very good debugging features.