OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue May 07, 2024 12:46 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Simplest Possible O/S Design
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:12 pm 

Admittedly, I have a large learning curve ahead of me even though I have been working in this industry for more than 20 years.

Over that period of time I have watched operating systems (compilers, the Internet, etc) become increasingly complex. So much so that it is resulting in confusion and frustration for the general user and excessive time spent by programmers in coming up with results.

First an historical reference and some comments.

One thing Apple used to have (in its proprietary method) is that it could insure greater stability. Having all the code proprietary at least for the Kernel and drivers, certainly controls things: Certainly much better than the chaos within MS O/S's. I believe everything ran in Ring 0 which is not typical of the O/S's today. In a controlled coding scenario this is probably not a problem as any upgrades that introduced bugs would hopefully get resolved quickly as evidenced by the development of Linux and many other Open Source projects.

With control it is likely that some flexibility would be lost although it would be questionable if this would be an issue.

I propose a more simplified approach and to this end I would like feedback as to why such a proposal would or would not be successful.

Keep in mind this O/S would be for the general user (not necessarily for sophisticated users). The objective is to try and reduce the complicated environment the average user has to contend with.

O/S Design:

1. No memory segmentation
2. No paging ??
3. No traditional filesystem (instead use a single file which is a database containing various entities)
These entities would not resemble the current files we are used to. However, the database would contain all the