OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:24 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: set 80 x 25 text mode by UEFI
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:57 pm 

How do I set 80 x 25 text mode or change to text mode using UEFI?

I'm new to UEFI. Please, can anyone help me to set the video mode for a matrox vga card using UEFI.

Post subject: Re: set 80 x 25 text mode by UEFI
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 1:59 am 

hey22 wrote:
How do I set 80 x 25 text mode or change to text mode using UEFI?

I'm new to UEFI. Please, can anyone help me to set the video mode for a matrox vga card using UEFI.

You don't. Simple as that. UEFI does not assume or require a "VGA compatible controller", and the UEFI drivers for your card likely run it in native mode.

If you want text mode, you must do what the UEFI implementation does: Draw it yourself.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 3:22 am 

Hi,

To clarify; for UEFI there's 3 different things.

First there's the "Console I/O Protocol". This is an API you can use to output text to the console, without knowing or caring what the console is (e.g. it could be a serial port or something) and without having any control over various things (like what video mode is being used, if any). Basically this is like using stdout/stdin (except it's UTF16 and not UTF8 or crusty old ASCII).

Next is the "Universal Graphics Adapter Protocol" (or "UGA"). This only supports graphics video modes, and is obsolete now (except for Apple systems which are a mangled mixture EFI 1.0 and UEFI 2 and later, as far as I know).

Finally there's "Graphics Ouput Protocol" (or "GOP"). This was introduced in UEFI 2 and replaced UGA. Like, UGA, it doesn't support any text modes either.